Can't Access one of my sites :- 550 message

This section is the support area for customers of Key Software. If you have a problem with an order please feel free to discuss it here.

Moderators: jthspace, maximus

Post Reply
User avatar
jthspace
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2568
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 12:00 am
Alpha Centauri

Can't Access one of my sites :- 550 message

Post by jthspace » Mon Jun 11, 2007 2:38 pm

Status: Connecting to ftp.whittlesford.info ...
Status: Connected with ftp.whittlesford.info. Waiting for welcome message...
Response: 220 FTP server ready
Command: USER *************
Response: 331 Password required for whittlesford.info.
Command: PASS ********
Response: 230 User whittlesford.info logged in.
Command: SYST
Response: 215 UNIX Type: L8
Command: FEAT
Response: 211-Features:
Response: MDTM
Response: REST STREAM
Response: SIZE
Response: 211 End
Status: Connected
Status: Retrieving directory listing...
Command: PWD
Response: 257 "/" is current directory.
Command: CWD /whittlesford.info/
Response: 550 /whittlesford.info/: No such file or directory
Error: Could not retrieve directory listing

All the other sites are accessable, so it isn't my settings in FIlezilla

Appreciate your assistance,

Jeff



User avatar
maximus
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4068
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 12:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Post by maximus » Mon Jun 11, 2007 5:22 pm

I assume you can ftp into your site now Jeff? I just checked and it was ok. Let me know if not.
Maximus
Site Admin

User avatar
jthspace
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2568
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 12:00 am
Alpha Centauri

Post by jthspace » Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:31 pm

Hi,

Sort of - it will only connect if I get the failure notice and then hit "refresh" to try connecting again. Tried a few times and always the same

At least I am in . . . .

Jeff

User avatar
jthspace
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2568
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 12:00 am
Alpha Centauri

Post by jthspace » Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:37 pm

OK, got me thinking . . . .

Have the latest version of Filezilla and it is slightly different to previous version I had. (Lost when Computer crashed!)

To get to default directory, there is an advanced tab (was on main tab before). Set default directory to "/" instead of blank and it connects every time. Wierd thing is, the other websites I access with Filezilla all work OK.

Thanks for checking

Jeff

User avatar
maximus
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4068
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 12:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Post by maximus » Tue Jun 12, 2007 1:02 am

Odd. I'm using Cute FTP at the moment and that connected without a problem so obviously there is some gremlin in the software somewhere.
Maximus
Site Admin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest