Sub Domains

This section is the support area for customers of Key Software. If you have a problem with an order please feel free to discuss it here.

Moderators: jthspace, maximus

Post Reply
User avatar
jthspace
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2568
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 12:00 am
Alpha Centauri

Sub Domains

Post by jthspace » Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:05 pm

I have never used these.

If I create one called "document.websitename.com" which is located at www.websitename/public_html/document, can I install a website in that location and would it be accessable from www.document.websitename.com?

Jeff



User avatar
m8internet
Member
Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Sub Domains

Post by m8internet » Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:55 pm

In cPanel that is how they work
You set up the sub-Domain
The files are then contained in the sub-folder of the same name
Sadly this does mean duplication

document.domain.name
domain.name/document

There is also a solution to prevent anyone using the sub-folder to be redirected to the sub-domain instead
Professional website hosting
m8internet.com

User avatar
jthspace
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2568
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 12:00 am
Alpha Centauri

Re: Sub Domains

Post by jthspace » Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:04 pm

Thanks, so my thinking was correct, makes a change. I will have a play during the week to see how I get on. From your comment on duplication, I assume that I have to copy everything to both locations?

Jeff

User avatar
m8internet
Member
Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Sub Domains

Post by m8internet » Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:38 pm

jthspace wrote:From your comment on duplication, I assume that I have to copy everything to both locations?
No, from above one copy exists on the sub-folder but is visible in the browser by either (ie duplication)
Professional website hosting
m8internet.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest